You are currently viewing Cricket Australia ICC World Cup 2023 Squad Announced
Pat Cummins, Steven Smith | Getty images

Cricket Australia ICC World Cup 2023 Squad Announced

EDICRIC | Cricket News | Cricket Australia ICC World Cup 2023 Squad Announced

Cricket Australia ICC World Cup 2023 Squad Announced

Australia has picked its team for the ODI World Cup in India, and Pat Cummins will be the captain. The squad has some familiar faces and a few surprises. One of the surprises is Sean Abbott, who will make his debut in the World Cup.

Abbott, who started playing ODIs in 2014, has only played 11 matches in this format but has been impressive with his bowling and batting skills recently. He was part of the T20 World Cup-winning team last year and has done well in domestic cricket. He will join Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, and Josh Hazlewood as the fourth fast bowler for Australia.

The team also values players who can do both batting and bowling, like Mitchell Marsh, Cameron Green, Marcus Stoinis, and Glenn Maxwell. Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa are the spinners, while Alex Carey will be the wicketkeeper. Josh Inglis is the backup batter and wicketkeeper, and Travis Head and David Warner will be at the top of the batting order. Steve Smith, who is recovering from an elbow injury, is expected to be fit for the tournament and will add more skill to the middle order.

“Australia Left Marnus Labuschagne World Cup Squad”

Australia didn’t pick Marnus Labuschagne, who was initially in the 18-member squad for the South Africa tour but didn’t make it to the World Cup team. Labuschagne has been a great Test cricketer but hasn’t performed as well in ODIs, with only 13 matches and an average of 32.69. Australia chose more versatile options over a specialist batter like Labuschagne.

Australia also left out Tanveer Sangha, Nathan Ellis, Aaron Hardie, Spencer Johnson, and Tim David from the squad currently playing against South Africa. Sangha, who made his T20I debut earlier this year, couldn’t secure a spot as the third spinner, while Abbott beat Ellis for the fourth fast bowler position. Hardie, Johnson, and David have yet to make their ODI debuts and will have to wait for another chance.

“Australia CWC2023 Squad Analysis”

Remember that this squad is provisional and can change until September 28, as per ICC rules. Australia will play eight more ODIs before the World Cup, five against South Africa and three against India. They will also have two practice games before the tournament starts. Australia’s first World Cup match will be against India in Chennai on October 8.

Australia ODI World Cup squad: Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

This Post Has One Comment

Leave a Reply