You are currently viewing Top 5 Teams Expected To Win The ODI World Cup 2023
ODI World Cup 2023 Trophy

Top 5 Teams Expected To Win The ODI World Cup 2023

EDICRIC | Cricket | Top 5 Teams Expected To Win The ODI World Cup 2023

Top 5 Teams Expected To Win The ODI World Cup 2023

The ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 is coming soon, and cricket fans are excited to see which team will win the trophy in India. The tournament will have 10 teams, and they’ll play in a round-robin format, followed by the knockouts. The final will be on November 19 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, the world’s largest cricket stadium.

But which teams have the best chance of winning the title? Here are my top five favorite teams based on their recent performances, rankings, and squad strength:


India is the host country with a strong batting line-up led by captain Rohit Sharma and vice-captain Hardik Pandya. Their bowling attack is well-balanced with pacers like Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Mohammed Siraj and spinners like Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav. India has won the World Cup twice before and will be eager to win it again on home soil.


The defending champions, England, are also strong contenders. They have a powerful batting unit with players like Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Jos Buttler, and Harry Brook. Their bowling attack is versatile with pacers like Jofra Archer and Mark Wood, and spinners like Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali. England won the World Cup in 2019 and will aim to retain their title.


Australia, a five-time champion, is always a formidable team. They have a strong batting line-up with players like David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, and Glenn Maxwell. Their bowling attack includes pacers like Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins, and spinners like Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar. Australia has won the World Cup five times before and will be determined to add another trophy to their collection.

New Zealand

New Zealand, the runners-up of the last two editions, is also a favorite. They have a solid batting line-up with players like Kane Williamson, Martin Guptill, Finn Allen, and Tom Latham. Their bowling attack is lethal with pacers like Trent Boult and Tim Southee, and spinners like Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi. Though they haven’t won the World Cup yet, they’ve reached the final three times and will be eager to clinch the title this time.


Pakistan is considered the dark horse of the ODI World Cup 2023. They have a talented batting line-up, including players like Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Rizwan, and Iftikhar Ahmed. Their bowling attack features pacers like Shaheen Afridi and Naseem Shah, and spinners like Shadab Khan and Mohammad Nawaz. Pakistan won the World Cup in 1992 and will be hoping for a magical performance in India.

The ODI World Cup 2023 promises to be an exhilarating event, with India, England, Australia, New Zealand, and Pakistan emerging as the top contenders. Cricket enthusiasts worldwide eagerly await the thrilling battles and unforgettable moments this prestigious tournament will undoubtedly bring And don’t forget to follow this blog for more updates on cricket news and analysis.

This Post Has 7 Comments

Leave a Reply